The Book of Concord

We accept as our confessions all the symbols contained in the Book of Concord of the year 1580. The symbols of the Lutheran Church are not a rule of faith beyond, and supplementary to, Scripture, but a confession of the doctrines of Scripture over against those who deny these doctrines. Since the Christian Church cannot make doctrines, but can and should simply profess the doctrine revealed in Holy Scripture, the doctrinal decisions of the symbols are binding upon the conscience not because our Church has made them nor because they are the outcome of doctrinal controversies, but only because they are the doctrinal decisions of Holy Scripture itself.

The Confessions of the
Evangelical-Lutheran Church
as contained in
The Book of Concord of 1580

and translated by F. Bente and W. H. T. Dau

The Three Ecumenical Creeds The Smalcald Articles
The Augsburg Confession Treatise on the Power and Primacy of the Pope
The Defense of the Augsburg Confession The Epitome of the Formula of Concord
The Large Catechism The Solid Declaration of the Formula of Concord
The Small Catechism

These online links are courtesy of